Wolf House Ruins
Jack London wrote so often about wolves and dogs that his friend George Sterling gave him the nickname “The Wolf”. So, when Jack started building his dream house in 1911, it was only fitting that it would become known as the “Wolf House”.
Unfortunately, Jack and Charmian never moved in. Construction was almost complete when a fire began late on the night of August 22, 1913, spreading rapidly and gutting the interior of the house. Today, it stands as a haunting and beautiful ruin that draws fans and visitors from around the world.
One day, when Charmian and Jack were riding over their property, they came upon a quiet little knoll containing the grave site of two pioneer children—David and Lilly Greenlaw. Jack was quite moved by the peaceful and lonely place and he said to Charmian that he would like to be buried in this spot if he should die before her. So, when Jack passed in November of 1916, Charmian had his ashes placed under this large volcanic rock. Thirty-nine years later, Charmian’s own ashes would join with her beloved “Mate’s” in this final resting place.
Tours depart the House of Happy Walls Museum at 11 am and 1 pm on Saturdays and Sundays only. Please confirm schedule at entry kiosk when you arrive.
No reservations required, no additional fee.
The tour is approximately 1 to 1.5 hours in duration.
The trail is mostly unpaved and is uneven in areas with some uphill portions. Part of the trail is in the shade, but much of the trail is in the open.