Skip to main content
"The three great things are: good health; work; and a philosophy of life. and I may add, nay, must add, a fourth - sincerity, without this, the other three are without avail; with it you may cleave to greatness and sit among the giants. "
- Jack London, "Getting into print", The Editor Magazine 1903

The Books of Jack London


Jack London was born on January 12, 1876. By age 30, he was internationally famous for Call of the Wild (1903), The Sea Wolf, (1904) and many other literary and journalistic accomplishments.

Though he wrote passionately about the great questions of life and death and the struggle to survive with dignity and integrity, he also sought peace and quiet inspiration.

His stories of high adventure were based on his own experiences at sea, in Alaska, or in the fields and factories of California. His writings appealed to millions worldwide. Jack London was also widely known for his personal exploits. He was a colorful, controversial personality, often in the news. Generally fun-loving, he was quick to side with the underdog against injustice of any kind. An eloquent public speaker, he was much sought after as a lecturer on socialism and other economic and political topics. Most people considered London a living symbol of rugged individualism, a man whose fabulous success was not due to special favor of any kind, but to a combination of immense mental ability and vitality. Strikingly handsome, full of laughter, restless and courageous, always eager for adventure, Jack London was one of the most romantic figures of this time. He ascribed his worldwide literary success largely to hard work—to “dig”, as he put it.

Between 1900 and 1916, he completed more than 50 fiction and nonfiction books, hundreds of short stories and numerous articles. Several of the books and many of the short stories are classics and still popular; some have been translated into as many as 70 languages. Among his most well-known books are Call of the Wild, White Fang, The Sea Wolf, Martin Eden.

Purchase exclusive Museum Editions of the complete works of Jack and Charmian London.  Biographies and other books related to the life and times of the London’s.


A complete list of Jack London books, by date of publication, follows:

  • 1900 The Son of the Wolf
  • 1901 The God of His Fathers
  • 1902 Children of the Frost
  • 1902 The Cruise of the Dazzler
  • 1902 A Daughter of the Snows
  • 1903 The Kempton-Wace Letters
  • 1903 The Call of the Wild
  • 1903 The People of the Abyss
  • 1904 The Faith of Men
  • 1904 The Sea Wolf
  • 1905 War of the Classes
  • 1905 The Game
  • 1905 Tales of the Fish Patrol
  • 1906 Moon-Face and Other Stories
  • 1906 White Fang
  • 1906 The Scorn of Women
  • 1907 Before Adam
  • 1907 Love of Life and Other Stories
  • 1907 The Road
  • 1908 The Iron Heel
  • 1909 Martin Eden
  • 1910 Lost Face
  • 1910 Theft
  • 1910 Revolution and Other Essays
  • 1910 Burning Daylight
  • 1911 When God Laughs and Other Stories
  • 1911 Adventure
  • 1911 The Cruise of the Snark
  • 1911 South Sea Tales
  • 1912 The House of Pride and Other Stories
  • 1912 A Son of the Sun
  • 1912 Smoke Bellew
  • 1913 The Night-Born
  • 1913 The Abysmal Brute
  • 1913 John Barleycorn
  • 1913 The Valley of the Moon
  • 1914 The Strength of the Strong
  • 1914 The Mutiny of the Elsinore
  • 1915 The Scarlet Plague
  • 1915 The Star Rover
  • 1916 The Little Lady of the Big House
  • 1916 The Acorn Planter
  • 1916 The Turtles of Tasman
  • 1917 The Human Drift
  • 1917 Jerry of the Islands
  • 1917 Michael Brother of Jerry
  • 1918 The Red One
  • 1918  Hearts of Three
  • 1919 On the Makaloa Mat
  • 1922 Dutch Courage and Other Stories
  • 1963 The Assassination Bureau


  • Sign up
Lost your password? Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.
We do not share your personal details with anyone.