The House of Happy Walls Museum was built by Charmian London and Eliza Shepard, Jack London’s stepsister, after London’s death in 1916. Architect, Harry P. Merritt designed the House of Happy Walls to be Charmian’s home and ultimately, a museum. She lived in the house from 1935 until 1952. Today, the newly re-designed exhibits in the Museum showcase the adventurous and inspiring lives of the Londons.
This Arts and Crafts-style house is reminiscent of the exterior of the Wolf House, with the Spanish-style roof tiles and fieldstone walls but it is much smaller at 4720 square feet, and the interior reflects Charmian’s unique sense of style.
On weekends talented Piano Club volunteers play Charmian London’s 1901 Steinway grand piano bringing the House of Happy Walls to life.
10 am–5 pm every day
Closed Christmas Day