Jack London State Historic Park Logo
Jack London State Historic Park
slider html

The Books of Jack London

Jack London  was born on January 12, 1876. By age 30, he was internationally famous for Call of the Wild (1903), The Sea Wolf, (1904) and other literary and journalistic accomplishments.

Though he wrote passionately about the great questions of life and death and the struggle to survive with dignity and integrity, he also sought peace and quiet inspiration.

His stories of high adventure were based on his own experiences at sea, in Alaska, or in the fields and factories of California. His writings appealed to millions worldwide. Jack London was also widely known for his personal exploits. He was a colorful, controversial personality, often in the news. Generally fun loving, he was quick to side with the underdog against injustice of any kind. An eloquent public speaker, he was much sought after as a lecturer on socialism and other economic and political topics. Most people considered London a living symbol of rugged individualism, a man whose fabulous success was not due to special favor of any kind, but to a combination of immense mental ability and vitality. Strikingly handsome, full of laughter, restless and courageous, always eager for adventure, Jack London was one of the most romantic figures of this time. He ascribed his worldwide literary success largely to hard work - to "dig", as he put it.

Between 1900 and 1916, he completed more than 50 fiction and nonfiction books, hundreds of short stories and numerous articles. Several of the books and many of the short stories are classics and still popular; some have been translated into as many as 70 languages. Among his most well-known books are Call of the Wild, White Fang, The Sea Wolf, Martin Eden.

First edition books are highly prized by collectors and first edition books with the original dust cover can cost thousands of dollars.

Many of Jack's books are still published.  On the list below, titles marked * may be purchased at the park.

A complete list of Jack London books, by date of publication, follows:

1900 The Son of the Wolf

1901 The God of His Fathers

1902 Children of the Frost 

1902 The Cruise of the Dazzler

1902 A Daughter of the Snows 

1903 The Kempton-Wace Letters

1903 The Call of the Wild *

1903 The People of the Abyss *

1904 The Faith of Men 

1904 The Sea Wolf *

1905 War of the Classes

1905 The Game 

1905 Tales of the Fish Patrol *

1906 Moon-Face and Other Stories 

1906 White Fang *

1906 The Scorn of Women

1907 Before Adam *

1907 Love of Life and Other Stories

1907 The Road *

1908 The Iron Heel *

1909 Martin Eden *

1910 Lost Face 

1910 Theft

1910 Revolution and Other Essays

1910 Burning Daylight*

1911 When God Laughs and Other Stories

1911 Adventure*

1911 The Cruise of the Snark *

1911 South Sea Tales *

1912 The House of Pride and Other Stories

1912 A Son of the Sun *

1912 Smoke Bellew

1913 The Night-Born

1913 The Abysmal Brute *

1913 John Barleycorn * 

1913 The Valley of the Moon *

1914 The Strength of the Strong

1914 The Mutiny of the Elsinore *

1915 The Scarlet Plague*

1915 The Star Rover*

1916 The Little Lady of the Big House*

1916 The Acorn Planter

1916 The Turtles of Tasman

1917 The Human Drift

1917 Jerry of the Islands 

1917 Michael Brother of Jerry 

1918 The Red One*

1918  Hearts of Three

1919 On the Makaloa Mat 

 1922 Dutch Courage and Other Stories

1963 The Assassination Bureau *

Follow us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Follow us on Pinterest
Follow us on Instagram